Special Task Force

A Special Task Force (STF) has been established for each Sub-Division of each district of Delhi with the following composition: –

  1. Sub-Divisional Magistrate of the Sub-division / Convener
  2. Assistant Commissioner of Police of the subdivision / Member
  3. Deputy Director/Executive Engineer of DDA / Member
  4. Zonal Assistant Commissioner of MCD / Member
  5. Executive Engineer of PWD / Member
  6. BDO of Panchayat Department, GNCTD / Member

Representatives’ of other land owning agencies, such as L&DO to be inducted as and when necessary.

The functions and responsibilities of the Special Task force shall be to :-

  1. Act on information and intelligence gathered from various sources regarding encroachments and constructions of unsafe and unauthorized buildings.
  2. Recommend the land owning agencies to protect and recover encroached lands.
  3. Order registration of FIRs for violation of law under relevant provisions of Indian Penal Code and other laws, as applicable.
  4. Submit monthly progress reports by 7th of the next month to Dy. Commissioner of the district concerned for further submission to the government through Divisional Commissioner.
  5. Use GSDL/satellite maps for regular monitoring of unauthorized constructions and encroachments.
  6. Members of the STF have to attend meetings of the STF personally and cannot depute their subordinates to represent them.
  7. In terms of the order of the Hon’ Delhi High Court in CWO 4771/93 dated November 3,1997 the Junior Engineers and the Station House Officers would be personally responsible for any encroachment or unauthorized structures coming up in their jurisdiction.
  8. The District Task Force will continue to monitor and coordinate the functioning of the STF.